Latest News

Latest News 26/02/2023

Please follow and like us:

McCarthys Insurance Brokers; Listowel Sponsored North Kerry Senior League, Division 2, Rd 5, Tarbert 1-15, Asdee 1-08,

Our senior footballers finished off their North Kerry League Division 2 campaign going down to Tarbert at Walsh Park on Sunday last and by achieving victory the Shannonsiders have qualified for the knockout stages of the competition. In fairness Tarbert were the better side all through even though the home side had their moments.

Tarbert led from the word go with Conor Breen finding the net in the opening minute. The impressive Patrick Mulvihill goaled for Asdee in the second half. Overall a well contested encounter with match referee, Mike Hennessy, Ballyduff allowing the game to flow adding to the enjoyment.   

Golden Goal 

The clubs Golden Goal fundraising competition continues each week until the All-Ireland football final on Sunday July 30th. Weekly entry €2, with prizemoney €40.each week to the winning numbers. Purchase from John Pius Walsh, shop, Kevin Mulvihill. Patsy Coughlan or John Joe O Carroll. 

Week 5, winners of the Golden Goal were;( Kerry v Armagh); Pat Walsh, Doon, Ballybunion, Ava O Hanlon, Asdee East, Maggie Mulvihill, Asdee West. which is in conjunction with upcoming Fixtures in both National Football and Hurling League and Championship.   (Televised games). Next week’s game will be Roscommon v Mayo in National Football. 

Shannon Rangers AGM 

The Shannon Rangers Football A G M took place on Thursday night last February 23rd at the Railway Bar, Ballybunion where all of the six club representatives were present which included; Kerrys representative to Croke Park, (Ard Chomhairle) Maurice O Mahony, Ballydonoghue.  

Prior to the meeting getting underway a minute’s silence was passed for all those who suffered bereavements during the past year and in particular; Maurice King and Pat “Val” Diggins; Beale who were very much involved in the running of the club. Chairman Joe Langan, (Town) welcomed everybody to the meeting; stating that fundraising will be high on the agenda for the year ahead.

Club Secretary, Alan Kennelly gave a detailed account of the year’s activities while Treasurers John Dee and Fergus Stack outlined their financial report to the meeting. Team Manager for the past number of years; Martin O Mahony; Ballydonoghue stepped down from his position and was thanked for his great work put in during his term of office.

This position will now be taken over by another Kerry Footballer; 3-in-a-row All Ireland senior medal holder, John Kennedy. Club Officers elected for the year ahead are; President, Brian McCarthy, Ballylongford, Vice Presidents; Teddy O Sullivan, Tony Barrett, John Bunyan, Jerry Moriarty, (all Ballyduff), Alan Kennelly, John McCarthy, Jackie Walsh, Donie Mulvihill, Barry Walsh, Micheal McEllistrim, John Joe Walsh, (All Ballylongford). Jerdie O Connor, Michael Mulvihill, Robert Bunyan. (All Ballydonoghue). Eoin Liston, Ogie Moran, Robert Stack, Jimmy Buckley. (All Beale). Chairman, Joe Langan(Town), Tarbert, Secretary, Alan Kennelly, Ballylongford, Treasurers; John Dee and Fergus Stack, Beale, Insurance Officer, Shane Sheehan, Tarbert, P R O Ger Moran, Ballydonoghue.    


County Minor League, Division 8, Rod 3, Saturday March 4th, 2pm, home to Dromid/ Waterville, Round 4, Saturday March 11th, 2pm; away to Kenmare Shamrocks. Round 5, Saturday March 18th, 2pm, away to Ballymacelligott “B”. Credit Union County Football League. Division 5 will be commencing on Sunday March 19th with an away game to Kilgarvan. 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.