Latest News, Match Reports 2019

Latest News 10/03/2019

Please follow and like us:


Asdee 1-10   Ballylongford  0-7

Played at O Rahilly Park Ballylongford saw the meeting of fellow Parshioners in rather difficult weather conditions that saw a strong gusty wind blow diagonally towards the Town goals and favoured the home side in the opening half. It was Bally who were laying down a marker during the first quarter and in fairness should have been much further ahead only for some terrible shooting  as the led 0-3; Brian Murphy, (2) and Ciarain O Connor without reply .

However the visitors who were always working hard stepped up to the mark with Kieran Kelly after a good solo run from midfield split the uprights after 18mts. Sean Hanrahan put Bally a further point ahead before Asdee struck for what proved to be a crucial score when a ball decended in a crowded goalmouth and in first was Eoin Tydings to poke the ball to the net in the 20th minute. Leaving the score in favour of Asdee 1-2 to 0-4.

Points were exchanged before the break; Ciarian O Connor for Bally while Mike Breen, Darragh Keane and Paul O Carroll for Asdee leaving the half time score; Asdee 1-4 Bally 0-5. The visitors now had the aid of that wind in this half and went about their business quickly with a top notch point from Sean Keane. Still Bally were hanging in there and Ciarain O Connor with 2 pointed frees brought it back to the bare minimum by the 6th minute.

However Asdee began to play top class football for the remainder of the game and really outplayed their opponents who could never make inroads into a teak tough Asdee defence in which substitute Cyril Dineen excelled  and holding the Bally attack scoreless in that period of time. Seane Keane, (2) Paul O Carroll, (2), Darragh Keane kicked some exceptional scores to register an impressive win.

Teams and Scorers; Asdee; James Kelly, Brian Coughlan, Martin Collins, Con Carmody, Jack Keane, John Doran, Conor Keane, Kieran Kelly, 1pt, Darragh Keane, 1pt), Paul O Carroll, 3pts, (2f), Sean Keane, 4pts, Darren Russell, Mike Breen, 1pt, Eoin Tydings, 1gl, Eoin Kennedy. Subs; Cyril Dineen for Paul O Carroll, Shay Doran for Brian Coughlan.

Ballylongford; Shane O Sullivan, Patrick O Neill, James O Connor, Michael Tydings, Paul Murphy, Matt O Connor, Joe McCarthy, Tadhg McEllistrim, Sean Hanrahan, 1pt, Kenneth Foley, Jack Mulvihill, Darran Murphy,Brian Murphy, 2pts,  Ciarain O Connor, 4pts, (3f) Eoin O Connor.  Subs; Thomas Doherty for Darren Murphy, Eamon McElligott for Kennith Foley, inj, Conor Carmody for Paul Murphy. Referee, John Ross, Ballyduff.

GOLDEN GOAL  Week 6 winners in our Fundraisers”Golden Goal”  were; Emily Mulvihill, Craughdarrig and John Colgan, Cork who will each receive E40 to be given out each week to the winning number that corresponds with the first goal scored.

This is in conjunction with upcoming Fixtures in both National Football and Hurling Leagues and Championship; (Televised games). Tickets are now available and will be on sale each week for the duration of both National League and Championship from Club members and at the usual outlets; “Jack Jays” Bar and John Pius at E2 each.


Our Minors are doing well in the County League Division 3, “B”and after 2 games are on top of their group. This year Ballydonoghue threw in their lot with Ballylongford and Asdee and will be known as( ABB).Their first game was against Castlegregory at O Rahilly Park, Ballylongford; some nice scores were kicked by both sides with Jack Kennelly and Mickey Nolan playing for the home side.

Half Time (ABB ) 0-9 Castle 0-7. Second half started closely but tempers began to rise with a home team player shown a red card. However with the introduction of Brendan Keane and with the first touch found the net for the first of his 3 goals. A good display by the newly formed team. Final Score (ABB)  5-13 Castle 1-10
Team and scorers: Ryan O’Neill,:Robert Foley, Liam Guiney,  Gavin Stack, Pa Carmody, James Donegan(1pt),  Conor Carmody, Brendan O’Neill  Shea Doran  Mikey Nolan, (1Pt), Jack Kennelly, (1-9) 12 Tadgh O’Carroll, Brian Murphy, (1pt)  Liam Mulvihill ,(1-1) 15 Daragh Keane 
Subs Brendan Keane, (3 gls), Paddy O’Neill, Josh Prendergast, Brendan O’Neill  Anton O’Connor, Emmett Kelly, Ronan o Neill.

In their second game they travelled to Beaufort. (ABB) had some changes to make with both injuries and suspensions to the fore.Playing against the breeze in the first half the defence had to work hard but with Liam Guiney and Conor Carmody playing well the visitors held  a slight lead at the break; 2-2 to 1-7.
At the turn around (ABB) got the perfect start when Brendan Keane got a hand to a long ball and fisted the ball to the net to repeat what he did in the previous game with his first touch after coming on as a substitute at half time. ABB were winning most of the outfield battles with both Shea Doran and James Donegan on top in midfield..Another 1- 3 was scored without reply before Beaufort tagged on 4 points to make it an edgy last few minutes for the away side. Final score Beaufort 1- 11 (ABB) 4-5. Team and scorers
Ryan O’Neill, Anton OConnor, Liam Guiney,  Cathal Doran, Pa Carmody, Robert Foley, Conor Carmody, James Donegan,Shea Doran, Tadgh O’Carroll, Jack Kennelly,(1-5) Josh Prendergast, Brian Murphy, Liam Mulvihill, (1g), Daragh Keane,
Subs:  Brendan Keane,(1g) ,Paddy O’Neill, Gavin Stack, Brendan O’Neill, Alan Foley

SCOR. It was a busy weekend in the world of Scor in the parish with both the North Kerry Finals of Scor Na bPaisti which is for National School Children along with the County Finals of Scor Sinsear Quiz going ahead.

Asdee were well represented atthe North Kerry Finals of Scor Na bPaisti which took place in the Marian Hall, Moyvane on  Sunday last taking part in 6 out of the 8 catagories; Figure Dancing; Clodagh Sheehy, Moira O Connor, Roisin Fogarty, Katie Keane, Orla McElligott, Chloe Brennan, John Collins, Maggie Mulvihill. Instrumental Music, Clodagh Sheehy, Aoibhin Lynch, Deirbhile O Carroll, Ella Picket, Orla McElligott.

Solo Singing, Eamon O Connor, Recitation, Niamh Daly, Leiriu, Aoibhin Lynch, Saoirse Duffy, Eamon O Connor, Deirbhile O Carroll, Niamh Daly, Sean Hayes, Darragh Mulvihill, Sophie Collins. At the end of a great days entertaintment even though we didn’t have a winner the 17 children from Asdee did the Club proud. Niamh Daly did come second in the Recitation but failed to qualify.

At the County Finals of Scor Sinsear Trath Na gCeist held in the Centre Of Excellence, Currow on Friday evening last Asdee were represented by Kathleen Carmody, Mary Alice Walsh, Kevin Mulvihill and Eoin Kennedy doing very well and finishing in a mid table position.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.