Latest News, Match Reports 2019

Latest News 08/09/2019

Please follow and like us:


Kilgarvan  2-12            Asdee  4-11

Asdee recorded their 7th win of an excellent County League campaign, only losing 3 games by a total of 4 points. Making the playoffs for a second consecutive year is a fine achievement, but stiff tests now lie ahead.

It is also worth pointing out the team finished with the best defensive record in the league, with great credit due to the management and a huge team work rate. An impressive team performance, which showed ever-improving skill levels and decision making sealed a five-point win down in Kilgarvan. 

A hat trick by the ever-green Cyril Dineen must be noted, as well as an excellent return from injury for Owen Tydings and debuts for Sean McElligott and  Ryan Henry. Indeed, all players can be happy with their performances on a day when a win was a must. 

Both teams were short some key players as  Asdee opened the scoring with a goal from Cyril Dineen inside the first minute.  Kilgarvan’s Gearoid Fennessey put over Kilgarvan’s first point from a free to make it 1-00 to 0-01 after 10 minutes.

Asdee’s Dara Russell and Dara Keane put two more points on the board for the visitors followed by a fine point from Kilgarvan’s Gearoid Fennessy, Sean Godfrey added a further two points from play before Asdee’s Paul Carroll converted a free to make it 1-04 to 0-04 after 23 minutes.  Anther Asdee goal from Dara Keane  and point for Kilgarvan’s Gearoid Fennessey put Asdee ahead at the break on a scoreline of Asdee 2-04 Kilgarvan 0-05.

Asdee got the first two points after the break  before Kilgarvan’s Jack Foley fired over the bar to add to Kilgarvan’s total.  Patrick O’Shea converted a free for the home side to make it 0-07 to 2-06 after after 5 minutes. 

Asdee were putting on the pressure which resulted in two goals in 5 minutes for Cyril Dineen and Dara Keane.  Kilgarvan kept fighting and Patrick O’Shea  converted a penalty to make it 1-07 to 4-07 after 43 minutes.  Kilgarvan lost full back Connie Cremin with an injury after 45 minutes.  Two points followed from Asdee. 

Kilgarvan’s Liam Twomey replied with two points for the home side. Kilgarvan kept attacking and a great pass from Con Godfrey to Sean Godfrey led to Sean finding the back of the net.  Kilgarvan kept the pressure on with further points from Gearoid Fennessy but the clock ran out and Asdee won on a scoreline of Kilgarvan 2-12 Asdee 4-11.

Team; Asdee :  James Kelly, Con Carmody, Martin Collins, Conor Keane, Mike Breen, 1pt, John Doran, Jack Collins, Jack Keane, 1pt. Dara Keane,1-3,  Paul O Carroll, 2pts, Sean Keane, Dara Russell, 2pts, Cyril Dineen,3gls,Owen Tyding, 3pts.Eoin Kennedy. Subs used; Ryan Henry for James Kelly, Sean McElligott for Jack Collins..


St. Marys Asdee having been involved in the Senior Championship back to the mid 90s and this year was no exception where President of the Board former Kerry Senior football ledgend,Jerdie O Connor, Ballydonoghue and all 16 club delegates within the North Kerry Football Board including  local club delegates, Mark O Hanlon and Patsy Coughlan were in attendance at McMunns Bar and Restaurant, Ballybunion who are sponsors of the Bernard O Callaghan Memorial North Kerry Senior Football Championship on Wednesday evening last September 8th.

Prior to the draw North Kerry Football Board Chairman Johnny Stack welcomed everybody to the meeting thanking the many sponsors along with Greg and Una of McMunns.

Draws were made for Junior, Minor, Under 21 and Novice Championships but the highlight of the night being the draw for the Bernard O Callaghan Memorial Senior Football Championship. All eyes were on the bowl as competition sponsor Una of McMunns Bar and Restaurant and President of the North Kerry Football Board Jerdie O Connor did the honours. 14 teams were entered with the first two teams out to receive a bye to round 2. All first named teams will be enjoying home advantage.

Both Tarbert and Brosna received the byes as the draw  certainly  threw up some very exciting contests and none more so than the clash of last years champions St. Senans and Beale. Senans created their own piece of history by lifting the Eamon O Donoghue Cup for the first time  and would be one of the favourites to do so again but the Seasiders will be well up for this and could very well cause an upset.

Last years finalists Ballydonoghue who were going for 3-in-a- row of titles only to fall short to St. Senans will certainly be one of the favourites this year; they are causing quiet a stir in their Division of the County League having been promoted to Division 2  but they  have a tricky assignment when they travel to Walsh Park, where they take on Knocknagoshel. Ballyduff at home to Moyvane  is without doubt a mouth-watering encounter.

Ballyduff would start as firm favourites but you write off Moyvane the Championship specialists at your peril.  Another tough clash will be for Finuge who must travel to O Rahilly Park, Ballylongford; Bally haven’t been setting the world on fire in recent times but when it comes to Championship time they raise their game considerably.

Asdee will have home venue but not at Walsh Park as the pitch is been upgraded at the minute; Duagh will provide tough opposition and will go into this game as firm favourites; however Asdee despite having difficulty with numbers are always a tough nut to crack in the Championship but this may prove a bridge too far on this occasion.

Castleisland Desmonds and Listowel Emmets were the first teams out of the hat and certainly these two heavyweights will have a rare old tussle. Either team are not performing to the best of their ability at the moment due to injuries and lack of form. Still this is sure to attract a huge attendance to the Castleisland venue and maybe will take another day out to seperate them.

So i suppose last years finalists; St. Senans and Ballydonoghue will be the teams to beat but Castleisland Desmonds or Listowel Emmets , Finuge, Ballyduff, Brosna and maybe Beale would be in the shake up for the Eamon O Donoghue Cup. Can Brosna or Knocknagoshel finally lift the cup. Interesting times ahead. Fixtures will be confirmed by the C C C of the North Kerry Football with a provisional date of October 5/6th set for the opening rounds. Board.   

  GOLDEN GOAL  Week 29 winners in our Fundraisers”Golden Goal” over the past week were;  Eoin Kennedy, Village and Ger Foley, Gullane, Ballybunion  who will each receive E40 to be given out each week to the winning number that corresponds with the first goal scored.

This is in conjunction with on going All Ireland Championship in both Football and Hurling; (Televised games). Tickets are available and will be on sale each week for the duration of the Championship from Club members and at the usual outlets; “Jack Jays” Bar and John Pius at E2 each.


The very best of luck to our Kerry senior footballers and all concerned who did themselves  and the County proud in a trilling All Ireland Senior Football Final on Sunday September 1st.

However it will all have to be done again when the teams clash once again on this Sunday September 14th in the eagerly awaited replay. Both Jason Foley and Shane Enright from our neighbouring clubs will certainly have a huge say in the destination of “Sam”.


Bernard O Callaghan Memorial  North Kerry Senior Football Championship. Round 1, Asdee v Duagh. Date and venue to be confirmed

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.