Latest News

Latest News 03/05/2020

Please follow and like us:

Memory lane, 1986: A new era in Asdee football was unfolded in 1986 which was to transform the game in the area. Side by side with our great rivals and fellow parishioners for a number of years it was again decided to go it alone in all competitions.

A number of well attended meetings were held to discuss the clubs future and after lengthy discussions it met with approval and so heralded the foundation of St. Mary’s GAA club and so heralded the foundation of St. Mary’s GAA club and from the outset it had the appearance of a long lifeline about it.

The first competitive engagement was in division 2 of the North Kerry league against Ballyduff where no one knew the real worth of this team as a unit but by the time the final whistle sounded even in defeat, 1-5 to 0-5, the team showed lots of potential which augured well for the future of the club.

The team on that occasion was: Eddie Joe Linnane, Mike O’Connor, Paddy Dee, Sean O’Connor, John Gorman, Paddy McElligott, J. P. McElligott, Gerdie O’Carroll, Sean Doran (capt.), Sean O’Keeffe, John Joe O’Carroll, Micheal O’Connor, Barry Healy, Dan Dalton, jimmy O,Carroll. Subs., Tom O’Donoghue, John Martin Collins, Mike Vallelly, Kevin Mulvihill, Joe Dee, Joe Edgeworth and Mike Breen.

I suppose one has to mention the first local derby against Bally, the first of many which was to follow, which drew huge crowds to whatever venue it was played in. The blue and white took the honours in this ‘one.

The club’s first win was in the county novice B competition against Causeway but Filmore ended our prospects of going further when they defeated us after a replay. The club decided to enter a team in the North Kerry junior championship after faring quite well in the county league and North Kerry league.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.