Match Reports 2013

Fossa too strong for Asdee

Please follow and like us:

By Jack Hennessy


Division 5 County League

Asdee  0-5   Fossa 3-19. Fossa remain top of the Division 5 table after a facile victory over visitors Asdee played in difficult weather conditions at Fossa on Saturday evening last. The home side played with a greater intensity from the opening whistle in a game that Asdee struggled to get to the pace of. Leading 2-10 to 0-1 at half time the home side dominated in almost every sector of the field with the goals coming in the 28th minute from Paudie Clifford and a 30 meter effort from wing back Derry O Sullivan who lobbed the keeper on the stroke of the short whistle.

Asdees only reply was a close in free in the opening minutes from Eoin Tydings. In fairness Fossa could have been further out of sight but squandered 3 gilt edged goal opportunities during that opening 30 minutes.  On resumption Fossa continued where they left off and a further goal after some poor defending saw Kevin McCarthy waltz his way along the end line to smash to the net after 4 minutes. What ever chance the visitors had of making a game of it was now well and truly ended as Fossa just toyed with the opposition adding some well taken points.

Asdee did add a few points in the remaining 5 minutes from Paul O Carroll, Mike Breen, Kieran Kelly and John Doran but it only helped to take the bare look off the scoreboard. Fossa were really a class apart and were  always in the driving seat against an Asdee side who seemed to be out of their debt. In an overworked Asdee defence Sean Keane, Eoin O Carroll and Kieran Kelly were best, John Doran and Padraig Ruddle had their moments at midfield while in attack they failed to function or make any impression on a tight marking home defence.

Asdee; Conor Coughlan, Sean Keane, Martin Collins, Eoin O Carroll, Con Carmody, Noel Long, Kieran Kelly, 1pt,John Doran, 1pt, Padraig Ruddle, Michael Tydings, Darren Russell, Micheal Walsh, Mike Breen, 1pt, Eoin Kennedy, Eoin Tydings, 1pt. Subs; Paul O Carroll, 1pt for Eoin Tydings, Charles Dalton for Micheal Walsh, Brian Coughlan for Martin Collins, Barry O Donoghue for Con Carmody, inj.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.