Match Reports 2014

Asdee storm to victory

Please follow and like us:


18 May 2014

Venue: Stack Park, Ballybinon.

Asdee 4-14  Kilgarvan 1-9. Played at Stack Park, Ballybunion on Sunday last Asdee just simply blitzed  Kilgarvan in round 5 of the Credit Union County League. Inspired by top drawer displays from Con Carmody, Darragh Keane, Mike Breen, Eoin Kennedy and Darren Russell to mention a few were always very much to the fore and looked sharp in open play and punished the visitors at every opportunity.

In fairness Kilgarvan were short a number of regulars and even though they struggled in the majority of the duels they never threw in the towel and were still willing to give their all right up to the sound of the final whistle. Asdee opened their account in the 4th minute when Darragh Keane pointed but Keith Harrington was quick to reply with a similar score. Even at this early stage Kilgarvan were finding the going tough and were defending in great style especially by their wing backs John Mark Foley and Timmy Healy.

However in the 9th minute Darragh Keane finished off a sweeping move that started in defence and crashed the ball to the net. Still Kilgarvan came forward and Flor O Donoghue and Colm Kelliher cut the deficit with neat points. Asdee were now spreading that ball around and in the 12th minute Eoin Kennedy sent the ball well out of reach of Flor O Brien in the visitors goal. A poor kick out by Kilgarvan after 17 minutes was picked up by Charles Dalton and he chipped the keeper who was well off his line.

This signaled an Asdee scoring spree with Micheal Walsh, Mike Breen, Charles Dalton and Darragh Keane on target. Timmy Healy and Connie Cremin replied with points for the visitors which left the half time score; Asdee 3-5 Kilgarvan 0-5. On the changeover Darragh Keane and Donal O Sullivan exchanged points but by the end of the third quarter Asdee had built up a 4-11 to 0-8 point lead. By this stage the home side emptied their bench and still kept up the tempo adding 3 more points to their tally. Kilgarvan did get in for a few late scores which included a penalty after centre forward Donal O Sullivan was pulled down and Kerry minor panelists John Mark Foley made no mistake with the spot kick. Besides those already mentioned Keith Harrington, Connie Cremin, Donal O Sullivan and Flor O Donoghue deserve a mention.

Teams; Asdee; Conor Coughlan, Eoin O Carroll, Martin Collins, Con Carmody, Micheal Tydings, Sean Keane, Kieran Kelly, John Doran, 1pt, Padraig Ruddle, Michael Walsh, 1pt, Darren Russell, 1pt, Darragh Keane, 1-5, Mike Breen, 1-5, Eoin Kennedy, 1gl, Charles Dalton, 1-1. Subs used Barry O Donoghue for Michael Walsh, Eoin Tydings for Charles Dalton, Padraig Buckley for Con Carmody, Brian Coughlan for Eoin Kennedy, Dinny Dalton for Micheal Tydings.                            

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.