Match Reports 2015

Asdee record stunning derby victory

Please follow and like us:

NORTH KERRY LEAGUE DIV 2. Asdee 1-15    Ballylongford 0-5.

Asdee qualified for the Semi Final of the North Kerry League Division 2 in style with a fourteen point victory over Ballylongford at o Rahilly Park, Ballylongford on Sunday last. Despite missing several of their regulars through injury Asdee put on their best display of the year with nine different players getting on the scoresheet and were fully deserving of their big win.

This was the first meeting of the sides since the County Final of 2013 and it promised to be a to be a great derby match but it fell flat and never reached the standard expected when these two teams meet. Charlie Dalton opened the scoring in the 6th minute before Kieran Mulvihill equalised with a free for the home side in the 10th minute. After this the two sides traded scores with Eoin Kennedy scoring in the 12th minute followed by a brace from Charlie Dalton in the 16th and 17th minutes.Kieran Mulvihill responded for Bally with pointed frees in the 16th and 18th minutes.

Suberb points from Eoin Tydings and Eoin Kennedy in the 23 and 28th minutes closed out the scoring for the half. Asdee led by 0-06 to 0-03 at the break but for all their dominance they probably felt they could have been ahead by more at the break. However, their was only one team in the contest in the 2nd half. Asdee knew they needed a win to qualify for the semi-finals and blew the hosts away with a great 2nd half performance. Points from Charlie Dalton, Mike Breen and Con Carmody in the 1st,2nd and,6th minutes pulled them further clear.

Ballylongfords only two scores in the second half came from Kieran Mulvhill who was the home sides only scorer on the day in the 9th and 18th minutes. Asdee finished out scoring with points from Eoin Kennedy,Kieran Kelly, Denis Dalton, Eoin Kennedy, Padraig Ruddle and Matthew O’Hanlon in the 16th, 21st,23rd, 26th, 27th and 30th minutes. Denis Dalton made an expert finish for the games only goal in the 28th minute.

Asdee were full value for their win on the day and can now look forward to a semi final appearance. The game marked the return to football after a lengthy absence by Matthew O Hanlon and will now be a vital cog in the panel for the year ahead.

Asdee team and scorers were: Conor Coughlan, Sean Keane, Eoin O, Carroll, Brian Coughlan, Con Carmody 0-01, Darren Russell, Michael Tydings, Martin Collins, Padraig Ruddle 0-01, Kieran Kelly 0-01,Eoin Tydings 0-01, Darragh Keane, Michael Breen 0-01, Charlie Dalton(captain) 0-04 Eoin Kennedy 0-04. Subs Matt O Hanlon 0-01, Denis Dalton 1-01 Padraig Buckley Patrick Horgan

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.