Match Reports 2015

Asdee come out on wrong side of thriller

Please follow and like us:

NOVICE COUNTY SEMI FINAL. Asdee  1-8   St. Senans  1-12. Played at O Sullivan Park, Finuge on Sunday last St.Senans reached the County Novice Championship Final in a most entertaining encounter but had to rely on all their expertise to grind out a four point win over stubborn opposition. In fairness to the winners they were always in control and fully deserved their victory but when Asdee will reflect back they will rue some poor shooting and  conceded some needless frees which Paudie Quill, St Senans was unerring. Asdee began brightly and Darragh Keane popped over a good point after 4mts.before a quick free by Paudie Quill sent Sean O Connell through to level up. The first of the games goals came when Darren Russell for Asdee got on to a long delivery and smashed to the net in the 7th,mt  and 6mts later Darragh Kennelly found the net at the other end. It was end to end play at this stage and with Senans registering neat points through Brendan Wheelan and Sean O Connell and Asdees Mike Breen keeping his side in touch kicking over 2 frees. Senans were dealt a huge blow midway through first half when Sean O Connell had to cry off injured and was replaced by Shane Nolan who was to impress for the remainder of the game. Paudie Quill, Darragh Kennelly for Senans and Cyril Dineen for Asdee left the half time score; Asdee 1-4 St, Senans 1-5. On the changeover it was Asdees outstanding player Darragh Keane who levelled up the contest in the opening minute; but Senans moved up a gear and 5 points in succession with Asdees only reply coming from Mike Breen in the 15th minute as the Halfway boys led 1-9 to 1-6 after 17 minutes. Senans were now enjoying the majority of possession even though they had to play out the last 12 minutes with 14 players as Brendan Wheelan was red carded for a late challenge. The remaining 7 minutes or so was hectic as played ebbed and flowed; Points from Paudie Quill and Sean T Dillon were exchanged with Asdees John Doran and Eoin Tydings but when the final whistle sounded it was St. Senans who go through and a final meeting with Lispole. Team;

Asdee: James Kelly, Con Carmody, Noel Long, Eoin O’Carroll, Kieran Kelly, Sean Keane, Brian Coughlan, John Doran, 1pt, Padraig Ruddle, Mike Breen, 3pts, (fs) Darragh Keane, 2pts, Michael Tydings, Eoin Tydings, 1pt,  Cyril Dineen, 1pt, Darren Russell, 1gl. Subs; Michael Walsh for Brian Coughlan, Paul O Carroll for Michael Tydings, Charles Dalton for Kieran Kelly,Eoin Kennedy for Paul O Carroll.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.