Latest News 24/05/2020

Please follow and like us:

Memory lane, 1989-1993:

Asdee emerge as a force in North Kerry, 1989 will not be remembered for having any trophies on the display cabinet but still all teams performed splendidly in all competitions.

The novice A county championship was well contested where we defeated Ballymac in the opening round but lost to Kilgarvin at the semi-final stage. In the Mart Cup final Ballydonoghue defeated us after a replay with the game taking place in Ballybunion on January 6th, 1990.

The year 1990 will always stand out as the year Asdee won their first trophy at senior level in North Kerry, in capturing the Mart Cup. This competition was organised for losers in the first round of the North Kerry senior championship and very often proved to be a very hard competition to win.

Locally this Year, it was extra special as it brought together great rivals and fellow parishioners Asdee and Ballylongford. After taking, care of Brosna which took extra time to decide in a marvelous game, the whole of North Kerry was eagerly awaiting the clash of Asdee and Bally and they weren’t disappointed with the match.

A record crowd for this competition, a well contested game and a great sporting occasion with football the complete winner. The final score was Asdee 1 – 13, Bally 2-6.

The team was: Tom Gorman, Tom Long, Tom Kennedy, Sean O’Keeffe, Gerdie O,Carroll, Mike O’Connor, Eric O’Neill, Sean Doran, Barry Healy, J.P. McElligOtt, paddy Dee, Donie O’Keeffe (Capt.), Kevin O’Callaghan, John Kennedy, John Joe o,carroll. Subs., Micheal O’Connor, Tom O’Sullivan, Fergus O’Connor, Tom Stack, Neil O’Connor, Mike Moloney, Kevin Healy and Joe Dee.

In a senior football tournament run by Foynes GAA club in Shanagolden, Asdee were victorious over Athea 1 – 13 to 1 – 6 in the final after defeating the locals at the semi-final stage.

Another historic event arrived on Thursday, April 12th in Finuge when the club fielded a junior team in the North Kerry league against the home side and they marked the occasion with a famous victory, 1-2 to 0-4.

The team was: Joe Dee, Neil O’Connor, Tim O’Connor, Johnny O’Sullivan, Eamon Doran, Jimmy O’Carroll, James Vallely, Sean Doran, Peter Stack, Tom Long, Patsy Sheehan (Capt.), John Deenihan, Sean Deenihan, Sean Whyte, Mike O’Donoghue.

It is worth recalling that Michael Walsh, who was the only selector at the game, got assistance from Tom O’Sullivan and Jack Hennessy. They continued to impress in other competitions and defeated Duagh to reach the semi-final of the Murphy Cup against Ballydonoghue in Ballylongford.

Yes, this was the same competition that the club won as a junior side in 1986 and how ironic it would be if our B team, in their inaugural year could once again lift the Murphy Cup.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial