Latest News 20/09/2020

Please follow and like us:


After their heroics in round 1 Asdee’s aspirations of another shock result were put to bed very early in the second half when Ballydonoghue; the 2017 Championship winners and many people fancy to go all the way this year.

In fairness Asdee after a slow start had a reasonably good opening half but there was never going to be a shock result as the Ballydonoghue men were always in control and the old failure of not been able to put scores on the board once again was a problem for Asdee; whereas their opponents and even though they had their share of wides they were always able to score when mattered.

This is a serious well drilled Ballydonoghue side that has power;  they hunted in packs and gave their opponents little or no room to express themselves; their work rate is ferocious, their link up play is spellbinding and with forwards of the calibre of the Kennelly brothers, Jack and Paul and Darragh Sheehy they will cause endless problems for any defence and which they have already done on numerous other occasions; the midfield pairing of Michael Foley and Brian O Seanachain are County standard.

Their defence is teak tough and with another All Ireland medal holder. Darragh O Shea guarding the net they are the form team in the County at the minute; even they could use up their bench midway through the second half with the subs all contributing. Jackie Finnerty Park, Mountcoal was the venue with beautiful sunshine and a handful of supporters that made the occasion even better.

Having to line out without their County star, Jason Foley Ballydonoghue got out of traps quickly and by the 6th minute had gone 4pts without reply with their attack causing all sorts of problems for the Asdee defence; especially Jack Kennelly who was here there and everywhere and kicked 2pts along with Jack Foley and Darragh Sheehy who kicked long range efforts.

It could have been a lot worse only for Shay Doran making a timely interception that prevented what looked like a certain goal. Asdee settled to enjoy their best period of the game and Eoin Tydings opened his sides scoring midway through the half; Darragh Keane had 2pts cutting the deficit 0-4 0-3 in the 20th minute but Darragh Sheehy and Jack Kennelly closed the first half scoring leaving it Ballydonoghue 0-6 Asdee 0-3.

Could Asdee continue where they left off but that was quickly sorted as from the throw in Brian O Seanachain rose highest cut through the middle unmarked and slotted over an excellent point. This was to continue as Ballydonoghue took a firm grip on proceedings and completely dominated the game; Michael Foley and Paul Kennelly kicked points with Darragh Keane replying with a point for Asdee and after 9 minutes it was still Ballydonoghue ahead; 0-11 to 0-4.

In a rare second half attack Eoin Tydings was pulled down a minute later and from the resultant penalty he billowed the net. Now down to a four-point game was it possible to narrow the gap further; but that was as good as it got; Asdees only reply was a John Doran point. Paul Kennelly, (2gls); 16th and injury time and Michael Foley (24th) minute put the game to bed as the Ballydonoghue boys steamrolled their way to a comprehensive victory.

Certainly Ryan Henry in the Asdee goals deserve special mention with 3 magnificent saves during the game, Sean and Darragh Keane along with John Doran and Darren Russell tried hard. Ballydonoghue were just on top of their game with each and everybody contributing to their latest win.

Teams and scorers; Ballydonoghue; Darragh O Shea, Liam Guiney, Conor Kennelly, Billy Foley, Jack Gogarty, Brian Mason, Brendan O Neill, Brian O Seanachain, 1pt, Michael Foley,1-3, Jim Cremin, Darragh Sheehy, 2pts, Jack Behan, Jack Foley, 1pt, Paul Kennelly, 2-5, Jack Kennelly, 4pts. Subs, Stephen Foley 1pt for Jim Cremin, Michael Gogarty for Brian Mason, Daniel Power for Liam Guiney, Kevin O Donnell for Jack Kennelly, Declan Behan for Darragh Sheehy.

Asdee Ryan Henry, Con Carmody, Martin Collins, Kieran Kelly, Mike Breen, Sean Keane, Shea Doran, John Doran, 1pt, Jack Keane, Darren Russell, Darragh Keane,3pts, Eoin Kennedy, Cyril Dineen, Michael Tydings, Eoin Tydings, 1-1. 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial