Latest News 15/10/2017

Please follow and like us:


Asdee 4-17 Knocknagoshel 0-6

Asdee produced their finest hour in their North Kerry Championship history, coming out victorious over Knocknagoshel on a scoreline of 4-17 to 6 points.

The game started with Knocknagoshel having numerous chances, missing some of which might have put the pressure on Asdee in the early periods.

However, Asdee came into the contest strongly after the initial poor start, with Owen Tydings, Darragh Keane and Michael Tydings coming to the fore in the full forward line.

The score that injected life into Asdee came on the ten minute mark when a lovely move finished with Jack Keane breaking through and laying off to Eoin Kennedy who rounded the keeper and finished cooly to the net, putting Asdee ahead 1-2 to 0-2.

From here until half-time, Asdee produced some fantastic pieces of play, resulting in an exhibition of score-taking and exemplary passing.

Shortly after the first goal, Eoin Kennedy played Mike Breen through, who finished with a nonchalant punch to the net.

The workrate and intensity of Asdee’s play was outstanding during this period, with players from every line turning ball over and assisting in the attacking play.

Darragh Keane, Owen Tydings, Mike Breen, John Doran and Kieran Kelly added points from flowing moves before the break to see Asdee lead 2-9 to 0-3 as the whistle blew for half-time.

The second half opened with Asdee showing the same intensity as the first half, with Keith McNamara turning over a ball ending with Owen Tydings opening the scoring for the half.

This set the tone for the following ten minutes, as Asdee turned over possession time after time during this spell.

Shortly after, another turnover resulted Darragh Keane playing Owen Tydings through, who flicked the ball over the keepers head into the net, solidifying Asdee’s position.

Mike Breen, Darragh Keane and Owen Tydings added points in the next period of play. Knocknagoshel continued to try to break quickly, but the full-back line of Con Carmody, Martin Collins and Eoin O’Carroll were dominating their battles inside.

Asdee added a point from a lovely solo run by Eoin Kennedy, prior to another quick move, which saw Darragh Keane break free of his marker and crash his shot to the roof of the net.

Mike Breen added another point, before Eoin Kennedy added a long range point, and Kieran Kelly split the posts with the outside of the boot from 45 yards.

Michael Tydings got a well deserved point, before Eoin Kennedy and Owen Tydings added to their tally with well taken scores.

Knocknagoshel battled on and Asdee defended valiantly as they ventured forward in search of goals. Niall Barrett was to finish as Knock’s sole scorer with 6 points.

The defence was to hold firm however, limiting Knock to frees, and denying goal-scoring opportunities.

Paul O’Carroll, Denny Dalton, Matthew Hanlon, and James Kelly entered the fray half-way through the second half and each made significant contributions.

Con Carmody was black carded for an innocuous tackle at this stage, which was a shame for such an accomplished display.

The game finished with further points from Owen Tydings, one beauty from a tricky angle following a great pass from Sean Keane, as Asdee tended to drop back and consolidate their lead.

The final whistle brought a thoroughly deserving victory to Asdee on a scoreline of 4-17 to 0-6. They will now meet Listowel Emmets in the next round.

It would be wrong to single out any player after such a brilliant, committed display by everyone who took to the field.

The workrate, and determination shown was a joy to watch. It is rare to get such a performance in an important game, and every man can be proud of the display they produced today.

From the keepers Conor Coughlan and James Kelly, to the already mentioned full-back line, to Conor Keane, Sean Keane and Keith McNamara.

John Doran and Kieran Kelly worked tirelessly at midfield, while Michael Breen, Eoin Kennedy and Jack Keane were up and down the field helping to prevent and create scores.

The previously mentioned full forward line were outstanding, with each man winning their battle and putting scores on the board. Well done to team and management alike.

The team and subs were as follows:

Conor Coughlan, Con Carmody, Martin Collins, Eoin O’Carroll, Keith McNamara, Sean Keane, Conor Keane, John Doran (0-1), Kieran Kelly (0-2), Michael Breen(1-2), Eoin Kennedy(1-2), Jack Keane, Michael Tydings (0-1), Owen Tydings (1-7), Darragh Keane (1-2).

Subs: James Kelly, Brian Coughlan, Denny Dalton, Paul O’Carroll, Matthew Hanlon,  Micheal Walsh.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial