Did You Know

Please follow and like us:

Did you know that Shannon Rangers last County Championship win at any grade was back in 2003 when the North Kerry side put back to back titles together at Under 14 level. Rangers had an inauspicious start to the campaign when they were beaten 6-16 to 4-16 in the first round to Mid Kerry in Milltown.

The loosers round saw them pitted against Eoghan Ruagh and after a tough enough encounter won by a six point margin played at Glenflesk. Next up was Tralee (a combination of Austin Stacks, Kerins O Rahillys and John Mitchels) in the semi final. The game which was played at Mountcoal was a terrific advert for football and Rangers pulled away in the closing stages to secure a 3-13 to 2-9 victory and as a result of this win a final place awaited and a chance to get one over on Mid Kerry who were easy first round winners when the sides clashed. Kerins O Rahillys was the venue for the decider on Sunday June 29th.

Mid Kerry were warm favourites but Rangers stood firm and at the interval Rangers led 4-3 to 1-7, their ability to get goals being the highlight of the first half. It was more of the same on resumption with the Shannonsiders on top; however Mid Kerry threw caution to the wind to score two goals and leave the bare minimum between the sides. Now Rangers experience of being title holders stood to them and they carved out a tremendous victory scoring two unanswered points in the closing minutes for a three point victory. Final score; Shannon Rangers 4-9 Mid Kerry 3-9.

The victorious team and substitutes were; Shane Thornton, Ballydonoghue, Michael McMahon Beale, Martin O Connor, capt, Ballyduff, Ray O Sullivan, Asdee/Bally, Kevin Costello, Ballydonoghue, Paud Costello, Ballyduff, Kevin Enright, Tarbert, Anto Griffin, Ballyduff, Paudie Moroney, Asdee/Bally, Paul Kennelly, Ballydonoghue, Jackie Hegarty, Ballydonoghue, Eoin Kennedy, Asdee/Bally, Kevin Dillon, Ballydonoghue, Brian O Carroll, Ballyduff, Garret O Connell, Tarbert. Subs, Ger O Gorman, Ballydonoghue, Joe McCarthy, Asdee/Bally, Kevin Shanley, Tarbert, Thomas Brassil, Asdee/Bally, Declan Beasley, Beale, Eamon Walsh, Ballydonoghue, Conor Breen, Beale, Tony Brennan, Beale, Eoin O Carroll, Asdee/Bally, Darren Enright, Beale, John Enright, Ballyduff, Michael Normile, Tarbert. Mentors; Team Trainer, John Kennedy, Asdee/Bally, Selectors, Diarmuid O Carroll, Ballyduff, Patrick O Sullivan, Beale, Tom Enright, Tarbert, Christy Dillon, Ballydonoghue. Liasion Officer, J P Hussey, Ballyduff.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial