Did You Know

Please follow and like us:

did you know that the late Frank Sheehy of Listowel was the first man to score in the Railway Cup Football competition. That seven North Kerry men were on the Kerry U21 panel defeated by Meath in the 1993 All Ireland Final at Portlaoise; Shane Curtin, Desmonds, Fergus Stack, Beale, John O Connell, Tarbert, Eamon Hennessy, Ballylongford were playing. Subs were; Timmy Foley, Ballylongford, John Histon, Tarbert, Eddie Bowler, Duagh.

Brosna G A A Club joined the North Kerry Football Board in 1975 with President, Timmy Finnegan, Chairman, Maurice McAuliffe, Secretary, Frank Finnegan and Treasurer, John Cronin. That in 1967 Kerry County Board set up a Board to look after juveniles. The man elected to be the first Chairman of Bord Na Nog was Johnny Walsh of Ballylongford.

That in 1996 saw the first football games played in the Knockanure pitch. Chairman of the Club was Willie Joe Leahy. That Asdee were defeated by Castleisland Desmonds in the first round of the 1998 North Kerry Senior Football Championship by 3-11 to 1-9.

Team was Gerdie O Carroll, John Long, Martin Costello, 1pt, Kevin O Callaghan, Donal Nagle, Mike Long, Donal O Carroll, Barry Healy, Sean Mulvihill, Paul O Hanlon, 1gl, Tom Long, 2pts, Tom Hayes, John Kennedy, 4pts, Eoin O Mahony, 1pt, Patrick O Brien, 1pt. Subs, Danny Finucane, Dan Kearney, Ritchard Dee, Jack Scanlon, Matthew O Hanlon, Hugh O Donoghue, Sean “Red”Stack, Brian Coughlan, Tom Costello.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial