Did You Know

Please follow and like us:

Did you know that it is 21 years (1992) since Ballydonoghue last lifted the North Kerry Senior Championship Cup. Listowel Emmets were the holders (1991) going into the 1992 campaign defeating Castleisland Desmonds in the final and deserved their favourites tag to lift another Championship title.Ballydonoghue were hoping to bridge a 33 year gap since they were crowned champions in 1959 captained by the great Ned Purtill.

They got their championship underway with a hard earned win over Knocknagoshel in an earlier round and had 3pts to spare at the end. Next up was a semi final meeting with Moyvane and this game had to go to a replay before we had a winner, the sides having finished level at 1-7 a piece; however in an exciting replay it was the boys in green and white that prevailed on a score of 2-7 to 1-6. So after a long wait Ballydonoghue eventually reached the North Kerry Senior Football Championship Final.

Played at Stack Park, Ballybunion Listowel Emmets were the raging hot favourites while Ballydonoghue were quietly confident. In the end though it was Ballydonoghue who turned on the style before a record crowd at Stack Park, Ballydonoghue to claim the title with Jackie Dowling captaining the side to glory. Ballydonoghue 0.08 Listowel 0.03  Referee Danny Enright  Man of the Match David Gunn

The following is the panel of players used.  Mark Griffin, Martin Scanlon, Anthony Doyle, Tony Griffin, John Bolger Declan O Connor, David Gunn, Dick McElligott, Liam Flaherty, Stevie Connoughton, Paudie Mulvihill, Dermot Lynch, John Mulvihill, Michael Kissane, Pa Foley, Noel Madden, Jackie Dowling, Robert Bunyan, Nix Riordan, Dan Mulvihill, John Dowling, Batty Lynch, John Houlihan, Dermot Hughes, Colm O Connor, Padraig O Donnell, Martin Enright.  Trainer Tadhg Carr.

Before the 1993 victory the last Ballydonoghue team to reach a North Kerry Senior Football Championship Final was 1961 and certainl they had some household names in their lineout  North Kerry Final 1961  Moyvane v Ballydonoghue  Michael Mulvihill, Finbar Carrig, Paddy Purtill, Danny Dowling, Jer D O Connor, Bud O Connor, Tim Linnane, Johnny Cahill, Denis O Mahony, Tom Linnane, Jerry Healy, Mick Walsh, Jim Keane, Jim Paul Kissane, Bobby Collins, Eamie Kissane, Maurice Dillon, Patsy Kennelly, Joe Gunn, Con Nolan,  My thanks to Robert Bunyan former All Ireland winning Kerry Minor captain of 1975 who has supplied this information.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial